ATU Local 1505 Winnipeg

Important - Action on Solid Waste Collection Report (Oct.14)


Dear sisters and brothers,

Yesterday, Winnipeg City Council’s Executive Policy Committee voted unanimously in favour of recommendations to award two contracts to private entities to conduct solid waste collection in the city of Winnipeg for seven years. Despite requests from CUPE Local 500 and the Winnipeg Labour Council to consider extending the current contract with Emterra to enable time for CUPE 500 and the City to sit down and discuss opportunities to have the work performed by public sector workers, EPC voted to move forward with the contracts. This was also done despite recent released polling showing that 59% of Winnipeggers want to see solid waste collection conducted by the public sector, as well as an offer by Emterra to have its contract extended for one year to allow discussions between CUPE Local 500 and the City of Winnipeg to take place. The WLC is very concerned that this process is being rushed without proper due diligence. We are asking all affiliates and their activists to register their disapproval with this process. We believe CUPE Local 500 should be given a fair opportunity to meet with civic administration and present a case for returning solid waste collection to the public sector. This report with recommendations will be voted on at City Council on Wednesday, October 26th. Please forward this message to your activists and ensure they touch base with their respective councilors. Below are some news stories for background, as well as contact information for the various councilors.

Contacts for City Councillors

Jeff Browaty (North Kildonan)
Phone: 204-986-5196
Fax: 204-986-3725

Ross Eadie (Mynarski)
Phone: 204-986-5188
Fax: 204-986-3726

Scott Gillingham (St. James-Brooklands)
Phone: 204-986-5848
Fax: 204-986-4320

Jenny Gerbasi (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry)
Phone: 204-986-5878
Fax: 204-986-5636

Marty Morantz (Charleswood-Tuxedo)
Phone: 204-986-5232
Fax: 204-949-0566

Shawn Dobson (St. Charles)
Phone: 204-986-5920
Fax: 204-986-7359

John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry)
Phone: 204-986-5236
Fax: 204-986-3725

Mike Pagtakhan (Point Douglas)
Phone: 204-986-8401
Fax: 204-986-3531

Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan)
Phone: 204-986-5264
Fax: 204-986-7806

Cindy Gilroy (Daniel McIntyre)
Phone: 204-986-5951
Fax: 204-986-7000

Jason Schreyer (Elmwood-East Kildonan)
Phone: 204-986-5195
Fax: 204-986-3725

Brian Mayes (St. Vital)
Phone: 204-986-5088
Fax: 204-947-3725

Janice Lukes (St. Norbert)
Phone: 204-986-6824
Fax: 204-986-3725

Mathieu Allard (St. Boniface)
Phone: 204-396-4636
Fax: 204-986-3725

Russ Wyatt (Transcona)
Phone: 204-986-8087
Fax: 204-949-4530

In solidarity,

Brother Dave Sauer,
Winnipeg Labour Council

Follow Us!

Sign Up
Remember me
(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-60004471-1', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');